Undershirt Review: Equmen Core Precision Undershirt

March 10, 2009 | By | 73 Replies More

06/03/09 – Undershirt News: Equmen Launches Body-Optimizing Men’s ‘Wondershirt’ at Saks Fifth Avenue

06/23/09 – Be sure to check out the video at the end of this post.

I’m sitting here in my aisle seat aboard one of the newest airlines fully equipped with a media entertainment center offering on demand music, movies, satellite tv, music videos, games, and seat-to-seat chat. Instead of kicking back, relaxing, and enjoying a quite comfortable flight back to Tug Central, I’ve powered up my notebook, plugged it into the conveniently located on board power supply, jumped onto the in-flight wifi network, and am settling in to write what I believe will be one of the most anticipated undershirt reviews that I’ve written to date.

That’s right, today is the day for the Equmen undershirt review! For those of you who have not been here before or haven’t had the chance to familiarize yourself with these undershirts yet, here is a compilation of posts that I’ve published over the last couple of months covering the news and updates about the Equmen line of products.

Equmen Core Precision Undershirt – Spanx for Men?

Equmen: Core Precision Undershirt makers developing a line of body-shaping Underwear

My Equmen Undershirts have arrived!

Equmen Product Giveaway: How do you think an Equmen core precision undershirt can improve your life?

Wearing my Equmen V-Neck Undershirt today…

If you’re reading this post, you are now among the tens of thousands of people who have visited my site over the last couple of months looking for information about what has got to be the most visible launch of a new undershirt company in the last decade, if not longer.  I’m really not sure if all the press and attention for this new line of slimming undershirts is a result of a brilliantly executed marketing plan from Equmen’s veteran Marketing team or just plain dumb luck. But one thing’s for sure — there are a lot of people who are interested in finding out more about this cool new and yes, controversial men’s undershirt.

It all started back in late November when I read an article entitled The new Spanx for men?, written by London-based Times Online journalist John Waters, who shared his experience wearing the not-yet-released “core precision undershirt” for a day.  It didn’t take long for the flood gates of the blogsphere to open up and since that day, there have been literally hundreds of articles written about this new company and their men’s shapewear products. Surprisingly, except for press releases and the CEO interviews, many of these articles somewhat mock this new product in a sense. I guess it really doesn’t matter what they are saying, because people are definitely talking and Equmen is getting some awesome press and mind share because of it.

The product has jokingly been referred to as a man girdle, mirdle, Spanx for men, and control underwear. The general feeling is that most guys would not likely warm up to wearing a skin tight, slimming undershirt for fear of embarrassment and that most women wouldn’t want to see their men in one.  If you ask me, I think the folks writing those articles are being completely narrow minded, short sighted, and simply just don’t get it.

While I might be generalizing here, it seems to be very common for people to dismiss and talk negatively about something they simply don’t understand. And even more so if that something isn’t considered “socially acceptable” at the time.  Keep this in mind — up until the early to mid 1900’s, the undershirt as we know and love it today didn’t really even exist.  Are you honestly prepared to go on record today saying that an undershirt designed to flatten a guy’s gut and hide his love handles isn’t going to be a standard wardrobe item for men in 5 or 10 years?  No, I didn’t think so ;)

For those of you who have already made fun of these undershirts – guess what – I think the joke is on you because Equmen IS the next big thing in men’s slimming, compression, and performance undergarments. I applaud them for taking a category of undershirt that was once only marketed to a select group of men, combining that with the benefits of some of today’s leading performance gear, and taking it mainstream. Watch out UnderArmour, Nike, Skins, and Adidas – you’re about to be schooled.

Today’s review is primarily about Equmen’s short sleeve v-neck as it’s the one I wore for an entire day not too long ago while going about my normal daily activities (also known as working). I have, however, also had the opportunity to wear their tank top/singlet and long sleeve undershirts several times over the last month, so I’ll add in some commentary on my experience with those as well from time to time in the post. As with all of my other reviews, I’ll use the Fit, Feel, Function, and Affordability review process.

Fit – So I’m just gonna come out and say it because it’s pretty darn obvious – these undershirts (made from 73% polyester cationi, 13% nylon, 14% spandex) are designed to fit you tight. Truth is they’re tough to get on, and sometimes even tougher to get off.  But, if I were you, I wouldn’t get hung up on that because once you manage to get one of these puppies on, you’ll immediately experience some of the benefits of this tight fitting, yet surprisingly comfortable slimming undershirt. For me, I felt a good amount of support in the shoulders, arms, torso, and upper abdomen area. I also noticed feeling a little bit more confident in my appearance because the compressing effects of the medium-sized undershirt helped my shirt and pants fit a little bit looser by taking off about ½” from my midsection (love handles/waist area).  From reading other articles like this, folks have reported experiencing a reduction of up to 3” in their waistline. It would be hard for me to say that these undershirts will fit everyone as comfortably as they did me, because it will definitely depend on how someone is built. For those who are more on the overweight side, you’ll likely get more slimming effects, but at the same time, you might feel a little more constricted in one of these undershirts than someone like me who has more of an average build.

Equmen undershirts are cut extra long. The bottom reaches down to around my bottom/butt and front “lower extremities” and while I’m normally a really big fan of extra long undershirts like this, the length combined with the stretchy/snug fitting fabric created a couple of effects that I’m not completely thrilled about. First, I wound up having to tuck the Equmen into my boxers because the compressing effects forced my baggy-fitting boxers to bunch up and gather – normally I wear my undershirts on the outside of my boxers. If you’re a wearer of the tighty whiteys or fitted boxers, that won’t likely be a problem. Second, the bottom of the undershirt rolled up several times during the day up to my waistline. Although it never came all the way untucked, I did find myself tucking the undershirt back in from time to time as it felt more comfortable that way.

Tank Top/Singlet Notes: I’ve been wearing my Equmen tank top during every workout lately. I really like the extra support it provides in my upper ab area and mid section. I cannot say this concretely, but it seems as though when I’m wearing the tank, it feels a little easier to do sit ups than when I’m not.  One other note, it’s a lot harder to get these undershirts off when they’re wet! It’s like peeling off a layer of skin — but after a good workout — it actually feels great. Also, while this is not something I’d recommend from a hygiene perspective, I’ve worn the tank during the last 9-10 workouts without washing it (hanging dry between workouts – it drys fast), and there is absolutely no sweaty or mildewy smell to it whatsoever. It actually still smells clean! Nonetheless, I will be washing it regularly moving forward.

Long Sleeve Notes: I’ve worn the long sleeve version the least. It’s the hardest to get on, get off, and feels the most constricting of the three. Overall, the fit is pretty good, however, the part that I notice the most is in the arm socket and underarm area. There, I can feel the seams rub up against my skin and up into my armpit and when I move my arms backward, I feel a slight pinching in the back by where the seams and my arms meet.  I definitely prefer the fit of the v-neck and the tank top over the long sleeve.

Feel – I covered most of the way this undershirt feels in the fit category above with one small exception. The one thing that’s really interesting about the feel of this line of undershirts is that while you would likely expect to feel a little warmer when wearing a compression garment like this, you actually feel a little cooler instead. I’m not sure exactly why that is, but when I wore the v-neck for the day, my whole upper chest area felt cool throughout the day. In fact, I felt cooler than when I wear some of my cotton undershirts! Even more surprising, that also held true when I wore the the long sleeve undershirt for a couple of hours the other day.  The other notable characteristic about these undershirts is that, because of the smooth polyester/nylon/spandex fabric blend, your outer shirts will lay and slide nicely over them.

Function – I typically like to compare how a company markets the features of their undershirts to what I observe when wearing it. Here’s some information from Equmen’s website:

Ultimate high-performance undergarment.  Engineered with Equmen’s precision-fit HELIX-MAPPING™ technology, the CORE PRECISION™ UNDERSHIRT builds-in physiotherapy taping techniques to structure, support and energise the body. With seamless stitching and targeted ventilation, they fit like a second skin, delivering the ultimate fusion of fashion and function. Wear underneath any shirt, from street to sport, work to weekend.
* Improves Posture
* Supports Core Muscles
* Optimises Form
* Controls Body Temperature
* Visibly Streamlines

To be brutally honest, most of the stuff in the first paragraph above is really well written marketing copy that I really don’t understand — but it sure does sound cool, doesn’t it? After a little googling, I became enlightened on what physiotherapy taping techniques was. In simple terms, a physiotherapist is pretty much equivalent to a physical therapist in the U.S. and the “taping techniques” refers to ways in which those folks apply special taping and strapping materials to your arm, foot, knee or other parts of your body to aid both the treatment and prevention of injury. You ever see professional athletes getting taped up? Yep, that’s it! Ah, now I get it – the crisscross ribbing (aka helix mapping) manufactured into the undershirt’s design somewhat mirrors the type of support you would get from similarly applied sport taping.

As for other other things, I’ll have to give some props to these folks in the function category as I personally witnessed roughly 3 out of the 5 items listed above (a little of posture & support, controlled body temperature, streamlining).

Affordability – I’ll have to admit, I have never seen an undershirt manufactured with this type of precision before. It’s truly remarkable to see the level of intricacy used in the design of these garments and I would love to do a follow-up article sometime showing how their Israel-based manufacturing partner puts these things together. When you figure in the cost of the materials, plus manufacturing, packaging, marketing, and retail distribution, I don’t think think the $100 price tag is totally out of line.

But to be fair, it’s really hard to put these undershirts in an “affordable” category.  I was reading an article not too long ago with a quote from Equmen’s CEO, that stated the following:

Similar technology is already popular in the performance activewear market, with brands like Under Armour, Nike and Skins offering compression underwear that helps improve athletic performance. Equmen, however, is geared toward everyday use or for special events, like weddings, when men might want a little assistance looking their best, according to the company. “Compression garments have been developed to help athletes perform at their peak. We have found that the same technologies can benefit men on an everyday basis,” said Equmen chief executive officer Gavin Jones.

From my own personal experience, I would have absolutely have no hesitation to recommend having one or two of these undershirts in your waredrobe for special events as mentioned above, but I do have a hard time getting my head wrapped around the idea of throwing down around $100 a pop to buy a bunch of these for every day use.  I just don’t think that’s very realistic at the current price point.

I will go on record saying, that I really do like wearing these undershirts while I’m working out and based on the shirt’s high-tech design, I think they’re a perfect fit for guys looking for an alternative to Under Armour, Nike, or Adidas compression tops.

Summary

All in all, I give the line of Equmen undershirts high marks in practically all areas. The one exception is  affordability for everyday use.  So, if you’re looking for a cool looking, core supporting, posture improving, comfortable fitting, performance undershirt – go out and buy yourself a couple Core Precision Undershirts from Equmen!

Feel free to comment or send me in your questions.

6/23/09 Update: Just came across this video that features Equmen exec, Michael Flint! It also shows the Equmen compression boxers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Mens Shapewear, Undershirt Reviews

About the Author ()

Tug is the world's undershirt expert. Looking for undershirt or men's shapewear information? You'll find it here on my site - guaranteed! You can also find me on

Comments (73)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Sites That Link to this Post

  1. Asda Shape Enhancer T-Shirt Out Performs Spanx for Men, Equmen, RIPT Fusion, and Bodymax! | Undershirt Guy Blog | August 1, 2011
  2. Men’s Shapewear – Flying Off The Shelves as Reported by New York Times | The Undershirt Guy Blog | June 3, 2010
  3. Undershirt Review: Out on the Town in my GC2 Compression Undershirts | The Undershirt Guy Blog | May 20, 2010
  4. Men’s Undershirt Sales Jumped 11 percent in 2009 | The Undershirt Guy Blog | May 19, 2010
  5. Ask Tug Update: Police Body Armor Undershirts | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 6, 2010
  6. Undershirt Guy Blog Mentioned in March 2010 Issue of Men’s Health! | The Undershirt Guy Blog | February 9, 2010
  7. Need to Find A Holiday Gift? Think Undershirts! 43% of Americans in need of an Underwear Overhaul | The Undershirt Guy Blog | December 13, 2009
  8. Tug Exclusive! The REAL SPANX Shapewear for Men By Sara Blakely Is Coming! | The Undershirt Guy Blog | July 23, 2009
  9. Undershirt News: Equmen Launches Body-Optimizing Men’s ‘Wondershirt’ at Saks Fifth Avenue | The Undershirt Guy Blog | June 6, 2009
  10. Ask Tug: Compression and Slimming Undershirts. Shapewear for Men. | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 24, 2009
  11. Upcoming Review: Equmen Core Precision Undershirt | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  12. My Equmen Undershirts have arrived! | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  13. Equmen Product Giveaway: How do you think an Equmen core precision undershirt can improve your life? | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  14. Equmen Product Giveaway - Congratulations to our Winners! | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  15. Wearing my Equmen V-Neck Undershirt today… | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  16. Equmen Core Precision Undershirt - Spanx for Men? | The Undershirt Guy Blog | March 10, 2009
  1. Chohan Tabish says:

    Hey Tug,

    Please can you help me decide between two products i.e. Spanx for Men Zoned Performance and Equmen Core Precision Undershirt. I am looking for the most slimming effect around the Chest and Torso area (Waist Line). Which would you recommend.

    Thank you,

    Chohan Tabish

  2. nd says:

    Felt like I should come back to this post and comment. My undershirt tore today after 14 months of use. I used it about once to twice a week for a few hours at a time. It ripped when I was taking it off just now at the seams where the arm meets the chest. I feel that my tank top wouldn’t go through that kind of stress because it has no sleeves to pivot on when taking the shirt off.

    • thanks for the info nd. 14 months of use isn’t too bad, but it really shouldn’t have ripped. why don’t you email the company to see if they provide some kind of warranty.

  3. Movie Guy says:

    I really appreciate your thorough review on the Equmen undershirts. I read about them in Men’s Health this month and wanted to read an objective opinion. The Men’s Health article also featured the RIPT Fusion undershirts. After reading your review I bought one of the Equman undershirts and one RIPT. I am anxiously waiting for them now and will get back to you after I’ve tried both of them a few times. I was really surprised to see your original posts are almost a year old. I heard about them the first time in the Men’s Health article this month.

    • thanks movie guy for stopping by and posting your comment! yeah, the men’s shapewear underwear category pretty much exploded a little over a year ago after the folks from equmen initially launched their “core precision undershirt”. lots has happened since then. look forward to hearing your thoughts on the equmen and ript. please be sure to post your comments here on the site!

  4. Josh says:

    I bought one of the tank tops because the shirts claimed to help with posture and to be slimming. After wearing it several times I have concluded that it was the biggest waste of $90 I have ever spent. It did not improve my posture and it was constantly riding up making the slimming effect on my stomach non existent. Are one of these new cheaper ones a better option for a slimming effect?

    • hey josh, sorry to hear about your experience with the equmen tank. the only other slimming tank that i’ve tried (but haven’t written a review on it yet) is the supportank from manshape which is priced at $38. while it does offer some slimming around your mid section, that puppy is really hard to get on and off. i just daringly put it on (without having anyone here to help me take it off) to remind myself how the tank performs and it does an ok job of slimming me down around my waist, but i feel that the tank could benefit from some slight design improvements to make it a little more current looking and much, much easier to get on and get off.

      go softwear has one for $30, but i haven’t tried that one yet. marks & spencer just came out with their bodymax line which includes a tank priced at around $20 USD and i should be able to try one of those out soon so i’ll keep you posted. lastly, i’m not sure if the spanx men’s slimming line will have a tank top, but i should be hearing about that soon and will keep everyone posted here.

      there’s a master list of all the men’s shapewear undershirts/underwear listed on my site in this post. check it out and if you decide to try out one of the other tanks, keep me posted on what you think.

  5. Leicaman says:

    Back on September 30th I left a comment about a rip in one of the 2 shirts I’d bought in London 5 months earlier. I love these shirts but I was a bit concerned about quality control, especially at these prices. With the help of Tug, I was able to get some very friendly help from their customer service department and they replaced the shirt with no questions asked. ( I did send them a photo of the rip and hole). Thanks to Tug and also to Corie from Equmen for all the help! Great service and one happy customer!

  6. luke says:

    hello…quick question.. i am off to buy one of these shirts and was after a bit of advice on size and the difference between the high compression and the extra high… i am 6.2″ and around 205lbs and seem to be on the border on the size chart… i want the shirt for sports (squash, gym, etc) but also to wear under shirts…what size/style would you go for?

    • hey luke – just got back from an awesome & intense outdoor workout and I was wearing two layers of my equmen undershirts! first layer was the tank/singlet, second layer was the short-sleeve black v-neck core precision undershirt. both are size medium. i am 5’9″, mid 170′s and all my medium sized equmens – even the higher compression long sleeve grey one – offer good support and compression, but don’t feel too tight to wear. if you’re on the border of a size, i’d recommend picking the smaller of the two sizes.

      as for which style to pick, imo the v-neck will be the most versatile since you can wear it for working out and it can double as an undershirt that will keep your armpits covered. if you don’t have that problem and prefer tanks, the equmen singlet would be a pretty nice choice.

Leave a Reply


Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.