The Truth About Pro5 T-Shirts

May 24, 2012 | By | 21 Replies More

I guess the tight-neck thick t-shirt topic is a popular one, because after I wrote an article covering Pro5 t-shirts, and where to buy them, I started getting emails from folks.

See, the site I pointed people to was pro5shirts.com, because, well, when I scoured the internet looking for where to purchase them from, that site and other links to pages within the site kept popping up on google. Also, the domain name is “pro5shirts”, so one would assume that the individual running the site had ownership of the name, or at least permission to use a trademarked name like Pro5.

The sad truth is that’s not the case.

This all started because people who found pro5shirts.com through my site started ordering from them. Many sent emails to the company, but never heard back from anyone. They asked me, so I emailed the folks at the website, and never heard back from them as well.

After a little bit of investigative work, and a lead from another reader, we found Pro5 t-shirts selling on eBay too. But it did not appear that the folks selling them on eBay had any relation to the folks selling them on pro5shirts.com.

Curious and confused, I did some digging into the Pro5 Trademark, and eventually found my way to the company that actually manufactures the tee shirts: Pro 5 Apparel.

Pro5 Thick Tight-Neck Tee Shirts. Offered in 18 colors from Pro5USA.com

The Official Pro 5 Apparel Website (www.pro5usa.com)

Courtesy of the very helpful t-shirtforums.com website, I found a representative of Pro 5 Apparel chatting in one of the forum threads and after a bit more searching, I found a few more email addresses and sent them an inquiry. This is the initial response I received:

The website you had just visited is not connected with our company although they are selling our merchandise but to be on the safe side please visit our official website at www.pro5usa.com if you want to purchase genuine products from Pro 5 Apparel. If you have any questions or concerns please email kate at kate@pro5apparel.com
Update >> If you have any questions, please contact Charles at charles@pro5apparel.com
Still curious about how a company unaffiliated with the Pro5 trademarked name could be using it in a domain name, I sent back another inquiry asking about how they felt with a reseller using their trademark. The rep emailed me back with the following:

Hi Tug,

Thank you for your concern and I appreciate your time and effort to blog about our Pro 5 products. Going back to this company that is posing as our official website, we did not authorize them to use our company logo to use in their website.

They should identify themselves as a reseller of Pro 5 products but not as the manufacturing company. We are not responsible for any misrepresentation to be made or will make by this company and advise the followers of your blog to visit our official website which is the www.pro5usa.com if they want to purchase genuine products from Pro 5 Apparel.

So, if you’re looking to purchase Pro5 tight-neck thick t-shirts from the manufacturer directly, please visit Pro5USA.com.

Though, I’m still a bit perplexed on why the company allows the reseller to use it’s trademark in the domain name. My guess is they’re selling a lot of t-shirts for them – but I could be wrong.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Category: Ask Tug

About the Author ()

Tug is the world's undershirt expert. Looking for undershirt or men's shapewear information? You'll find it here on my site - guaranteed! You can also find me on

Comments (21)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Charles Ahn says:

    Hey Tug,

    My name is Charles Ahn, Marketing manager with Pro5 Apparel, please give me an email, I would like to discuss a few things with you.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Best Regards,

    Charles Ahn

  2. The dude says:

    pro5usa.com

    I can’t find any international shipping option in checkout. I only see “free shipping”. How am I supposed to pay for the shipping to europe?

  3. frankie says:

    So whitch one is the real site to purchase pro 5 shirts & Whitch site NOT to purshase from?? Thanks

    pro5shirts.com

    freshtalltees.com

    pro5usa.com

    • hey frankie, well my friend, if you scroll up a bit to the middle of the article, you’ll see this:

      The Official Pro 5 Apparel Website
      (www.pro5usa.com)

      that’s the real site.

      • Frankie says:

        Okay iknow now that pro5usa.com is the official site, but what about the other two site are they scams or what ?

        • hi frankie, i really couldn’t tell you. i have received past complaints from people who have purchased from pro5shirts.com who said they never received their items and no one from the company would return their calls/email inquiries.

          i tried to send a note to the people at pro5shirts.com, and never heard back from anyone.

          that said, i would think that if no one ever got their orders from pro5shirts.com, there would be a lot more complaints.

          freshtalltees.com just looks like another website from pro5shirts.com (look at the links at the bottom of the freshtalltees.com site and you’ll see it links back to pro5shirts.com).

          i freakin’ hate it when websites create full other websites that link to each other, and sell basically the exact same shit. they do that for seo purposes only — not to provide any value to the consumer. i mean, i could see maybe a landing page that directs people over to the main site, but those crazies over at pro5shirts.com have created 3 or 4 websites where they’re selling the same shirts. all of their websites link back to their other websites. i wouldn’t be surprised if all of those websites are hosted on the exact same physical server (but with different ip addresses of course).

          just a pet peeve of mine — ok, now i’ll get off my soapbox.

          my recommendation would be to play it safe and purchase from pro5usa.com.

          • Frankie says:

            Thanks undershirtguy, now i know to stay away from those sites and stick with the official pro 5 site pro5usa.com

  4. Moe says:

    Im trying to buy a couple tee’s on pro5usa.com, but im having trouble confirming my order. When i get to the checkout page, it asks me to select the shipping method, but with no options. ??
    any advice woould be great

    • Joe S. says:

      Try tomorrow on a business day.

    • hey moe, were you able to complete your order yet? looks like joe made a pretty good suggestion of trying today. i’ll email the contacts i have on the pro5 side just in case.

      it’s still early today here on the west coast, so you may have to wait a few hours until the company’s regular business hours.

    • quick update: i went to the pro5usa.com website just now, added items to my shopping cart and got to the checkout/shipping page.

      the page shows 4 different shipping options. one in usps, three via ups. if you get to that page and still don’t show any shipping options, you either have possibly input your shipping address incorrectly (incorrect city, state, zip) or maybe there is something funky in your browser (or the site doesn’t support your browser).

      good luck. happy t-shirt shopping!

  5. MLO says:

    Good info, I have bought a few of these t-shirts and I didn’t know this. This is a better deal being the shipping is free at $40 and the other site is free at $140. A no brainer.

  6. Well i bought this shirt from apparently this reseller & really he never emails back & i haven’t received my shirts & i’m worried & don’t know what to do or how to get money back or get my shirts because they accepted my visa & it was already processed & is processing in order & i need some advice in how to get a refund or my shirts please somebody write back i really need help in this.

    • dunno what to tell you carlos.

      if you never get your stuff, you can either dispute the charge with your credit card or through paypal depending on what payment method you used.

      good luck!

  7. Joe S. says:

    These are very nice, high neck, heavy, high quality t-shirts….and the label reads, “U.S. components, assembled in Mexico”!! I agree with Leon, if you’re a big guy, they run a tad tight…..but I got these for wearing under long sleeve shirts anyway. I found at least 3 or 4 websites that seem to be selling the same product. I took your advice and bought from pro5usa.com which proved to be cheaper anyway with free shipping on a $40 purchase!!

    • awesome! thanks for the feedback joe. glad to hear these pro5 t-shirts are working out for you.

      • Joe S. says:

        You’re welcome, always appreciate people helping me out when I’m not sure of an online purchase. I forgot to mention that if you’re a big guy like me, 6’2″ 265#, I would recommend going one size larger than what you normally get. I usually go with 2XL, but 3XL would have been better I believe.

  8. Leon says:

    If your a big guy like me, I found pro 5′s 7x to be tight. Im 6’4 375. Super Heavy Tee

Leave a Reply


Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.